Chi Chi Chi Chia Seeds!

Good morning and Happy National Doughnut Day! Wohoo!

This morning we HAD to have a doughnut to celebrate the national holiday… I told you we celebrate everything! But I didn’t feel right just giving Emma a doughnut, but I also didn’t know what else to pair it with so yogurt and grapes it was.

I see posts all the time of yogurts, smoothies and puddings with chia seeds mixed in and so I bought a pack at Trader Joes a couple months ago but still hadn’t used it. So I decided today was the day to test it out, probably because I bribed Emma with the doughnut haha. But surprisingly she ate it just fine.

So here are some benefits of chia seeds and why you should try them out too!

  • Good source of fiber, calcium, omega3 and protein
  • Chia contains 5x more calcium than milk, 7x more vitamin C than oranges, 3x more iron than spinach, 2x the potassium than bananas and 8x more omega3 than salmon
  • Its great for energy boosters (I want to bake some energy bars I saw a recipe for with chia seeds, I’ll share that soon)
  • It’s said to stabilize blood sugar and improve digestion

The list goes on and on, so I recommend you look into it if you’re still a little skeptical. I’m also learning as I go along.

It’s also really easy to use! Today all I did was mix in about a teaspoon of seeds into the yogurt. There are a bunch of yummy smoothie and pudding recipes too. So not only is it healthy but also practical and yummy!

Here is todays breakfast. It was a hit!

IMG_20150605_101644

Leave a Reply

