Berry Yummy Oatmeal Bars!

Good morning everyone! We’ve been having eggs for a couple days straight this week so I wanted to change things up a bit for breakfast today. I opened up my pantry and looked at what I had to work with. The first thing I saw was my oatmeal filled mason jar. Boom! Lets make oatmeal bars! Then I thought, what fruit can I use? We ran out of fresh fruit already, so I went into my freezer and pulled out frozen strawberries and blueberries. So, here we go!

Here’s what you’ll need:

  • 2 cups of oats
  • 1 tsp. of baking powder
  • 1 tsp. of cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp. of salt
  • 1/3 cup of brown sugar
  • 2 cups of milk
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/2 tbsp. of vanilla extract
  • 3 tbsp. of honey
  • 1-1/2 tbsp. of melted butter
  • 2 cups of frozen berries (or fresh if you have them)
  • 1/2 cup of shredded coconut (optional)

Preheat your oven to 375 degrees.

You can either use the entire berry as is, or if you have a picky eater (like Emma) you can do what I did: drop 1 cup of strawberries and 1 cup of blueberries into your food processor and chop them up!

IMG_20150402_083520IMG_20150402_083551

In one bowl, mix all the dry ingredients (oats, baking powder, cinnamon, salt and brown sugar).

IMG_20150402_083704

In another mix all the wet materials (milk, eggs, vanilla, honey and butter).

So sorry guys, I was so focused on mixing I completely forgot to take pictures of these steps!

Next, get your baking dish and drop in your dry mix and berries. Mix them up well with your spatula. Once that’s blended well, drop in the wet ingredients and mix. This next part is optional, but I sprinkled some sweetened shredded coconut right before baking. If you don’t have coconut, you can also use chopped up nuts.

Now you’re ready to bake! Put it in the oven for 20-25 minutes. Once that’s done, bring them out and let them sit for a while before cutting, then ENJOY!IMG_20150402_090557IMG_20150402_101633

 

Leave a Reply

